Hello world, today I became a new me.

As far back as I can remember in my life, I remember going to work with my Mimi (my father’s mom). She is a hair dresser. I remember answering phones for the salon, sweeping up hair for tips, and most of all I remember thinking, “One day, I am going to be able to do hair just like my Mimi”. Well, I grew up, and while I have always maintained my passion for cosmetology, I pursued other things.

Currently, I am in school for criminal justice, and while I find it very interesting, I honestly cannot imagine doing anything in that field for the rest of my life. So I have been struggling with what to do, and today it hit me. Today I realized that I have known what I wanted to do all along, but for the life of me I couldn’t figure out why I haven’t done it yet.

Well, today I made the decision to switch majors in school. Today I decided to pursue my cosmetology degree, so I can do what I have wanted to do for as long as I can remember. I can be like my Mimi.

Leave a Reply

